Failure to Reflect

The creation of this blog is my personal countermeasure to Jamie Flinchbaugh and Andy Carlino’s bold and accurate statement in their book The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Lean – Lessons from the Road:

“The single biggest failure of leadership is a failure to reflect.”

The Japanese term “Hansei” [反省] translates simply as “reflection”.  Taking formal time out to stop and reflect on most anything is seen as a luxury, a rare event, something that one might do on vacation.  The opportunity missed is that, as leaders, regular reflection is a powerful means for learning, adjusting and improving.

As a lean leader, practitioner and never-ending student, I of course have much to learn.  My hypothesis is that I will improve my thinking and increase my learning’s through regular postings on this blog and hopefully in the process trigger some discussions with other lean thinkers.

I thank Flinchbaugh and Carlino for their insight.

9 thoughts on “Failure to Reflect

  1. Just have to say hello to my former teammates, and especially to Karl, for this message.

    1. Thank you Mark. Looking forwarding to connecting up (and attempting to keep up!) with your great work. – Karl

  2. Karl,

    A long time coming, but definitely not too late. Never too late. I would never miss a Hoover hansei – your partnership in health care and beyond is priceless,

    Ted

    1. Ted, Thank you for the kind remarks. Looking forward to continuing to foster the improvements that lean can bring to eHealth and patients overall. – Karl

Comments are closed.