Do as I say, Not as I do?

From a leadership perspective, this statement is about as “non-lean” as you can get.  I have been preaching about standard work for years.  In fact, I used to be pretty good darn good at it.

Problem: over the last 4 months, I’ve let my standard calendar and daily standard work slowly and surely slip away.  This degeneration has resulted in some fairly serious fallout including no regular reflection time (hence no blogging), no real improvement work, batching work, lack of 5S in the office, etc…geez.  Looking in the mirror can be quite humbling.

Enough already.

During a long flight this last weekend, I reflected on the need to get back to doing what I preach.  As of today, I have re-established my standard calendar and daily/monthly standard work.  My new visual control is up in my office – with a fair amount of red conditions and countermeasures on it!

Let’s see how I do with compliance to my own standards and processes.   Feel free to check up on me and see if I am keeping it alive.

6 thoughts on “Do as I say, Not as I do?

  1. I definitely agree you should strive to follow your own good advice.

    Another thing that is not lean/smart is evaluating an idea based solely on if the person follows their advice. Often I see people use the excuse that some leader isn’t applying lean tools well to say that mean I don’t have to. Just because someone else doesn’t follow good advice doesn’t me you shouldn’t follow the advice. Good advice is good advice whether the person follows it or not. And bad advice is bad advice whether the person giving the advice follows it.

    1. John, Appreciate the perspective. Have to decide for yourself what works and what doesn’t. It’s not a “copy & paste” situation. – Karl

  2. Mark, Thanks for the gemba question, I appreciate it! I can’t buy time, but I can certainly take the waste out of my own work processes. My experience has shown me that standardizing my day, making work visible, etc will actually create valuable capacity in my day/week. More time for family, friends and improving my company. – Karl

  3. Thanks for sharing those honest reflections. I guess I’d ask, as I’d ask a team in a hospital, to what purpose will your 5S, visual management, etc. contribute? Less stress? More professional effectiveness?

Comments are closed.