Root Cause Analysis

Sharing my perspective of target condition for leadership my last posting, my question today is “what are the barriers that get in our way?”  Here is my current best thinking on some of the key drivers of the gap:

Image

A historically significant contributor to the gap has been traditional leadership thinking and practice.  Most likely this has been further reinforced by a lack of awareness of what is possible.  The good news is that I have been seeing this old world view diminishing steadily over the last few years as leaders experiment with new ways of thinking/leading and then sharing what they learn with their peers.

Number two in the list of contributors to the gap in my experience is “not enough time”.

What I find fascinating is that as I engage with leaders around the country, there are many out there well on their way to closing the gap and “not enough time” is not brought forth as an issue. 

Given that we all have the exact same amount of time each day, me included, then why is the perspective of “not enough time” so prevalent in many leaders as the key barrier to moving forward while other leaders have seemingly moved beyond time as a restraining factor to becoming a lean leader?

Working on my hypothesis on this one…

2 thoughts on “Root Cause Analysis

  1. Great post Karl, as usual…
    I always ask Leaders if they “don’t have time” or is it that “they don’t have time to Lead the old AND the new way”? Almost without exception, they agree that they don’t have time for both Leadership styles. And I almost always agree with them. The challenge is to get them to see that the old ways will get nothing but old results. There is always hope for the future if the Leadership is uncomfortable enough to try a few new things while being brave enough to give up a couple of the old ones.

    1. Kevin, Excellent perspective; thanks for the additional thinking on this one. Hope you don’t mind me borrowing your comment “if the Leadership is uncomfortable enough to try a few new things while being brave enough to give up a couple of the old ones.” I’ll be sure to reference the quote back to you! – Hoover

Comments are closed.