Any Road Will Get You There

The classic quote attributed to Lewis Carroll, “If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there”, is most often used in the context of organizational planning and visioning.

I have found it to be quite provocative when applied at a personal level.

One week into the New Year and my resolutions to eat healthier, exercise more and work less are already in serious trouble. Setting the wilting resolutions aside and prompted by “If you don’t know where you are going”, I’ve been pondering the personal implications of Carroll’s warning. My deliberations this week, have shifted New Year focus over to one of “renewal and reflection”.

Renewal in the sense of “recharging”, “rejuvenation”, “resumption”… an intentional, personal renewal to teach, coach and personally practice the leadership principles that are necessary to successfully lead organizational transformations.

The focus on reflection spans both internal and external orientations. Internal being the daily contemplations and meditative moments when we check-in on how we “wish to be” compared to how we are “actually being”.   The external orientation is focused on regularly evaluating the value add that we strive to bring to our daily work and those around us.

My core belief is that principled leadership is the fulcrum for successful and sustained transformations. Therefore we have to know at a very personal level where we are going; we have to be crystal clear on how we want to lead; we must be willing to at least begin to transform ourselves before we can ask others to do the same.

Forget those tired resolutions. I’m thinking that some quiet time dedicated to personal “renewal and reflection” is a much better plan for stepping into the New Year.

 

6 thoughts on “Any Road Will Get You There

  1. Karl, your blog spoke to a topic I have been mulling on – the difference between Doing and Being, and the true source of action. Rather than write more here, let me whet your appetite with this; I am going to write my thoughts on my own blog this weekend. Our blogs can speak to each other! Eleanor

  2. Karl
    Thanks for your simple but hard to imlement nudge and I would just second that every time I spend reflection time is a much more valuable experience than responding to all the urgent daily “tasks” that can interfere with that. And one must first decide, commit and then ACT. Your message is an inspiration to thoughtfully reflect on the New Year FIRST……..Susie McDonald

    1. Susie, Appreciate the reinforcement of “simple but hard to implement”. Without dedicated time in my daily standard work, I think my reflection time would drop to near zero, even with years of practice. Suspect that all of us leaders would benefit greatly from ongoing “nudges” from each other. – Karl

Comments are closed.